Robbie deployed in a traditional way with cavalry on both wings with a strong centre of infantry. He placed his redoubt on the right flank. I deployed all my mounted troops on the right flank, the Yellow brigade on the left, and the Blue and Green in the centre. The Catholic League went first but in miserable set of command rolls pretty much remained where they were. My right wing horse also failed to advance very far if t all. In the centre the Blue brigade failed its command roll; in fact they only passed ONE in the entire game! The Yellow brigade moved to the bridge and river to secure my left flank and the Green brigade advanced albeit slowly, towards the enemy.
On the Swedish left, the Yellow brigade held off probes by Croat cavalry. The Catholic League grand battery was largely masked and ineffective throughout the game. Robbie moved his right wing horse along his rear in an attempt to switch flanks but in the end they made little progress and ended up shoring up the faltering infantry in the centre.
The Swedish Green brigade crossed the river and assaulted Robbie's centre, successfully shaking and pushing back his veteran regiments, despite taking close range artillery fire and being charged by Tilly's lifeguard.
In the end the Catholic League/Imperial forces were ground down and would we reckoned have made a fighting retreat before the majority of the Swedes crossed the river. With almost no cavalry left the Swedes would not be pursuing. Neither side had a significant advantage so as the Swedes would retain possession of the field we declared it a 'winning draw' for the Swedes.
Oh, the other highlight of the battle was the departure of Gustavus who was attached to one of his horse squadrons when they broke. The ignominy of it!
One point in the rules caused some debate. The new supplement allows Swedish shot to fire during a charge. We decided that the Swedes would fire BEFORE the defender's closing fire, giving them the chance to disorder their target and gain some advantage in the melee, assuming they made it. Was that right? Seemed so but the rules make no mention of how to deal with the 'Swedish salvo'.